Home / Politics / NMC Chair Ayeboafo demands immediate resignation of Asiedu Nketia

NMC Chair Ayeboafo demands immediate resignation of Asiedu Nketia

The Chairman of the National Media Commission (NMC), Yaw Boadu Ayeboafo, has called on newly elected Chairman of the National Democratic Commission (NDC), Johnson Asiedu Nketia, to resign as a member of the Parliamentary Service board.

He said the position demands neutrality of the highest sense and he doesn’t think a leader of a political party can do this.

Mr Asiedu Nketia, who at the weekend beat incumbent Samuel Ofosu Ampofo to be NDC National Chairman, has served on the board since 2021.

He was appointed together with former New Patriotic Party (NPP) Member of Parliament Abraham Ossei Aidoo as the Speaker of Parliament’s nominees onto the Board.

The Majority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu, and the Clerk of Parliament, Cyril Nsiah, are the members with the Speaker as the Chair.

But Mr Ayeboafo says it unconstitutional for a leader of a political party to advise the Speaker, for that matter.

He cited how the late Peter Ala Adjetey was removed from the Commission because he was the National Chairman of the NPP.

The former Editor-in-Chief of state newspaper Daily Graphic said the constitution was amended to ensure that Mr Ala Adjetey did not stay on as a member of the Commission.

“So, if somebody holding political office cannot be a member of the Commission, how can somebody leading a political party advise the Speaker which is supposed to demonstrate objectively and neutrality of the highest sense?”






































Source: 3news.com


See also  Don’t boycott 2023 budget presentation – Ken Agyapong to NPP MPs

About admin

Check Also

Lawyer descends on Sylvester Tetteh for downplaying Bawumia’s father’s role in NPP tradition

Suggestions by an avowed supporter of Alan Kyeremanten, Hon. Sylvester Matthew Tetteh who is a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *