Member of Parliament for Ningo Prampram, Samuel Nartey George has waded into the ongoing contentions regarding the shake-up in the leadership of the NDC Caucus in Parliament.

To him, the decision by the leadership of the party to change the leadership of the house is not his problem but the lack of proper consultation.

As an NDC MP and a staunch member of the caucus, Mr. Nartey claimed his colleagues only heard about their removal on radio stations and social media platforms.

Speaking on Accra-based Metro TV’s Good Morning Ghana show on Thursday, January 26, the vocal MP revealed that he initially thought the news was fake until confirmation came from the party’s headquarters.

“The problem I see MPs having, Randy, is not about the change. The problem of the caucus is not about the change; the problem of the caucus is not about the capacity of the people who are being changed; the problem of the caucus is the lack of engagement.

“The fact that as members of parliament, we heard about a change in leadership on the radio, and many of us had eggs in our faces because we said it was fake until Adabraka came out to say that yes, we wrote that letter,” he stated.

Mr. Sam George stressed that there should have been enough consultations to justify any changes if need be.

“I believe that their consultations may have been done at their level but I believe that it was not far-reaching enough. I believe that a little more consultation, in this case, engagements could have happened.

“They consulted based on what they said publicly with members of the council of elders and stakeholders in the party. After those consultations, they proceeded to write a letter to the speaker, and that is where I think the crux of the matter is,” the MP added.

On Tuesday, January 24, the opposition party, in an official letter, informed the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Alban Bagbin about some changes in its leadership in Parliament.

In the letter, the Ranking Member on Finance Committee of Parliament, Mr. Cassiel Ato Forson is taking over from Mr Haruna Iddrisu as the Minority Leader.

The Minority Chief Whip, Hon. Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka has also been replaced with Mr Kwame Agbodza.

The matter has caused division among the NDC MPs in Parliament with 60 members signing a petition to reverse the decision of the Party leadership.